2014 minutes

Minutes of the 2014 AGM of Glasgow University Staff Golf Club,

The meeting commenced at 5.30 p.m. 13h March 2015 in the private dinning room of The Bothy restaurant with 20 members present with Outgoing Secretary Ian Reid in the chair.

Apologies : Scott Bryson, Bill Cushley (Theatre), Hugh Elder (Double Booked), Scott Girvan (No dinner this year), Alastair Gracie (Not allowed out on a Friday), Paul Gunnion, Gavin Halbert (Norway), James Hay (Away for weekend), Robin Leake (Edinburgh via Australia), Stuart MacKenzie (Cannae make this date), Alan McGregor (Brussels), Karen McIlvaney (Not quick enough then 3 Lithuanian students ), Gordon McInnes (Can’t do Firday nights), Peter Meredith (enroute to inverness), Stephen Miller (Lanzarote), Tim Montgomery (Unable to attend), Kenny Pallas (thesis-writing), Ian Ramsden, Ian Salt and Iain Thayne (Not quick enough then 3 Lithuanian students )


Minutes of the 2013 AGM, held on 6th March 2014 having now been posted on the Club’s website where read in full but speedily and then Proposed ____________________________ and Seconded ________________________ as a full and faithful record.

Matters arising

Captain’s report

West Kilbride

A glorious day on a beautiful golf course in a soon to be independent / part of the union still proud country enjoyed by a very encouraging number of members. The newly elected Captain said a few nice words about various people and things and then announced the results to some applause thereby justifying his election in absentia at the AGM.

The winner was Ian, Ian and Ian in that order, though Ian claimed that he had a better inward nine that either Ian or Ian and that in fact the winning order should have been Ian, Ian and then Ian. Ian rebutted that a) as there were no prizes to hand out as Ian had forgotten to bring them and that b) even if Ian had remembered first to third prizes are identical. Ian remained unconvinced so Ian suggested that they would have to agree to differ but Ian refused so in the end they disagreed to differ. Meanwhile at the other end of the table Ian, belying his youth, wisely kept well out of it.




Several visiting overseas temp honorary members required


Commonwealth Games and Ryder Cup.

Mar Hall

West Lothian

Half dozen members


Treasurer’s Report



Secretary’s Report:


Even the secretary’s cunning plan to field a unisex team in this enlighten times came to nought, whilst Edinburgh and Aberdeen knock nine bells out of each other, Glasgow’s role was to hold their coats.

Alan Chalmers (Aberdeen) wins the Perry Pewter Pot.

Team : Ian Salt, Ian Reid, Hugh Elder, Pat McGinness,, Helen McGinness and Gordon Lindsay (Captain)

 Senate Match

Glasgow 7 point

Aberdeen 3 points

Team ?: Laurie Hunter, Hugh Elder, John Oliver, Iain Thayne, Anne Terry, Sean McKee, John Oliver and Gordon Lindsay (Captain)

East v West

This was also an away tie and we went mob handed, held on the pretty little Prestonfield course in the shadow of Arthur’s Seat, not to be confused with the 5 start Prestonfield House Hotel next door, which is exactly what several of the West team managed. Unfortunately this lack of direction continued on the course but with a typical West coast rain storm at or on our backs we came within a lightning bolt of victory only for it to be cruelly flash flooded out of our hands

Team: Ian Reid (Captain), Hugh Elder, Gavin Halbert, James Hay, Chris Taylor, Ian Salt, Bill Sutherland, David Still, Moira Still, Pat McGinness, Mary McLean and Bob Lamb


Election of Office Bearers:

New Vice Captain

Presentation of Prizes: The Captain presented the winning finalists present with their trophies.

Club Championship – Colin Gribble Cup

Ian Reid or Gordon Lindsay

Gents Singles – Rutherglen Cup

Bill Sutherland beat Neil Bulleid

Ladies Singles – Ferguson Rosebowl

Joyce McGregor beat Anne Terry

Fourball – Hetherington Cup

Laurie Hunter/Chris Taylor beat Ian McGregor/Andrew Stevenson

Jubilee Quaich

Not played for again