2023 AGM

Welcome to the 2023 AGM of Glasgow University Staff Golf Club.

Held in The Bothy, Ruthven Lane on Friday 15th March 2024

Apologies: Scott Bryson, Dave Currie (Australia), Keith Torrance (USA), Matt Gilmour, Tom Bryce, Alistair Bonnington, Wai Kwong Lee, Calum Hill, David Gordon, Iain Thayne, Campbell Griffith, Corey Savage, Alex Hepburn, Mary McLean, Hugh McLean, Jim Steele, Ian Salt, Brian Eden, and Sean McKee.

Last year’s Minutes

Minutes of the 2022 AGM, held on 17th March 2023 having now been posted on the Club’s website where read in full and then proposed by Anne Terry and seconded by Gavin Halbert as a full and faithful record.

Matters arising

  1. Combining/scrapping Joint outing in favour of East v West match. Members satisfied there are lots of other outings, and we put the emphasis on E v W match to be played on 24th June at Lanark.

Captain’s Report:


April – Dundonald:

David Gordon 40pts, David Sim 40pts and Lee Richmond 37pts.

Nearest the Pin at 6th Iain Thayne and 11th Jim Steele.

May – Mar Hall:

Joyce McGregor 37pts, Cam McIntyre 36pts, and Dave Currie 36pts.

Nearest the Pin at 5th Alison Elliott and 10th Alistair Bonnington.

June – Williamwood:

Joyce McGregor 44pts, Ian Gardner 37pts, Keith Torrance and David Still 36pts.

Nearest the Pin at 4th Keith Torrance and 13th Ian Gardner.

(Joint Edinburgh outing) – Linlithgow

AM David Still and Cam McIntyre 38pts.  NTP 7 and 17 John Binnie

PM Keith Torrance 38pts, David Still and Duncan Phillips 37pts. NTP Keith and Big Stuart.

July – Crail:

Moira Still 43pts, Craig MacDonell and Jan Clark 40pts.

Nearest the Pin at 6th Keith Torrance and 14th Anne Terry.

August – Clydebank and District:

Winner of Jubilee Quaich Jim Steele 39pts (BIH), Joyce McGregor 39pts and Chris Taylor 34pts.

Nearest the Pin at 2nd Chris Taylor and 6th Colin McGregor (Hole in One).

September – Cardross:

Scott Lavery 42pts, Zhenbo Cao and Joyce McGregor both 38pts.

Nearest the Pin at 5th Chris Taylor and 12th Zhenbo Cao.

The 2023 Outings Eclectic winner is Joyce McGregor with a combined best 3 stableford scores of 121. This consists of 44pts at Williamwood, 39pts at Clydebank and 38pts at Cardross.  Well Played Joyce.

Treasurer’s Report:


Balance 6th feb 2023£3191.91  
subs X 48£1440Balance Outing Subs (1)£1416
Ferguson Bequest (2)Prizes£275
Return of deposit crail£476annual domain£17.99
Green fees for finals£270
Deposit 2024 AGM£200
Deposit cardross outing£160
balance 2023 AGM£161.13
Deposit Lanark (EvW)£612.50
Balance C/F £1949.29
(1) net cost of outings£1416
Mar Hall£360
(2) Ferguson Bequest for 2023 season awarded on previous year's accounts
Anne Terry


Secretary’s Report:

Ancient Universities Golf Match

The Scottish Ancient Universities match took place on Sunday 16th & Monday 17th April 2023.

Day 1 (Montrose links): Glasgow 5 v 1 Aberdeen.

Day 2 (Arbroath): Glasgow 5.5 v 0.5 St Andrews.

Winning Glasgow team: Ian Salt (Captain), Greg Brown, Craig MacDonell, Wai Kwong Lee, Andy Smith and Steven Etherson

Next match sun/mon April 14th/15th 2024.

Senate Match:

The Senate Match was played on Friday 2nd of June 2023 at Newmachar.

Glasgow 6.5 v 2.5 Aberdeen.

Glasgow team : Laurie Hunter, Anne Terry, Cam Mcintyre, Craig MacDonell, Alistair Bonnington, Mary McLean, Keith Torrance, Anne Cumberland and Ian Salt.

Overall Glasgow 4up over 112 matches since 1895.

Next match: Killermont on Friday 31st of May 2024.

East v West

 Monday 28th August 2023.

Match cancelled.

Next match: Monday 24th of June 2024 at Lanark.


Election of Office Bearers:


Presentation of Prizes:

Club Championship – Colin Gribble Cup (Gullane)

Winner: Calum Hill

Runner up: Craig MacDonell

Gents Singles – Rutherglen Cup (Cardross)

Winner: Bobby Gault

Runner up: Jeff Kelly

Ladies Singles – Ferguson Rosebowl (Dunblane)

Winner: Lesley Porter

Runner up: Moira Still

Fourball – Hetherington Cup

Winners: David Gordon and Calum Hill

Runners up: Ojore Oka and Zhenbo Cao

Jubilee Quaich

Jim Steele

Outings Eclectic Winner

Joyce McGregor

Hole in 1 award

Colin McGregor